www.wherethefishhavenoname.com

8 04 2008

I am in the process of changing by blog to a new location due to the egregious changes made by WordPress making this a much, much less satisfactory blogging experience for me. I am very, very excited about the new site as it is my first venture into a blog that is completely managed, designed and handled by me. I’ve been greatly encouraged by the success of this blog, and so I hope that will translate to the new location. I invite all my friends to check me out at:

www.wherethefishhavenoname.com.

It’s the same loveable ol’ Greg, just a really nice new location. My changeover may take a few days, so check back often. Also please respond as you check in over the days ahead so I can stay in touch with you as well.

I am considering mirroring my posts here for a time, so we’ll see how that goes.

I would HIGHLY recommend the host for my new blog to you as well. After WordPress made changes that made blogging here much more difficult and unwieldy, I began a search with other sites. Blogger was ruled out from the start. I tried a trial on Typepad, and was relatively impressed. I ruled out many, many lesser locations that didn’t even come close to what the old WordPress offered. Finally, I settled on Squarespace. I am very impressed with this site, and look forward to a long term blogging experience there. If you are considering a change, I would give my personal recommendation to Squarespace, for what that’s worth.

Let me know what you think of the look of my new blog as you check in as well. I did the design work and I’m very pleased with how it turned out. Will be making improvements as I learn more, but for those of you who love the creative process as much as I do, Squarespace will be the place for you.

God’s blessings to all of you!

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 04 2008
Alex

Thanx you for the recommendation. I was going to go with typepad myself but stumbled upon squarespace. I’m currently with blog.com and not really impressed with the limited features. Then again I’m not really computer literate. The sample blogs on squarespace looked pretty neat though so I’m definitely giving them a try. Thanks again and keep up the good work! :-)

20 04 2008
Greg

Thanks Alex. I’m moderately computer literate, and you can see what I managed to do with my new blog. After several weeks of working with Sqarespace, I’m sold. It’s got its difficulties to overcome, but such will be the case with any blog host worth their web space. I’ve also noticed that there are many very positive reviews of Squarespace on line. Here’s another nice thing… it’s always bothered me that despite some ability to customize, my blog looked like thousands of others out there. Now I can customize my blog to be mostly what I want working with some basic starter templates. And if you’re like me and you like stats, Squarespace blows everyone else out of the water in that department. One other plus is that it seems that most web providers cater to children rather than serious adult users (and I will say that this has never been a complaint I had about WordPress). So whenever I find a site like Squarespace that realizes that there are surfers over the age of 16, I really respect it. Now if services such as Zimbio, Digg it, Del.icio.us, and their ilk would just discover the same thing. C’mon guys… grow up! Thanks again Alex, and thanks for giving me yet another chance to rant!

10 05 2008
Holly Boyd

Well hello Greg!

I am a Christian Professional Organizer, Author and Speaker… and a member of the Leadership Team at Woodsfield Free Methodist Church in Ohio… I am excited at the possibility of having you Pastor our church!!!! Just wanted you to know that we are praying fervently in the hopes that YOU are God’s will for us!

Thank you! Tell your wife Holly said “hello” and I pray to meet soon! Check out my website. Amen!

10 05 2008
Greg

Wow, Holly, you have an absolutely awesome site and business! You’re just the person I need to know! I too am excited about what God is doing in our lives these days. Barbara and I fell in love with the Woodsfield area on our visit there… and you have such a fantastic facility there. Thanks so much for your kind note, and thanks for your prayers. We are looking forward to seeing how things unfold in the days ahead.

Leave a Reply

