KISSed

12 03 2008

It seems like I’ve been seeing Gene Simmons everywhere these days.

The erstwhile lead “singer” of the clown rock band, KISS, seems to have found a good agent. His aged, once painted face shrouded with long, black dyed hair has been popping up all over the tube. I see his name littered all over the TV listings. He’s on talk shows, reality shows, news mags and more.

His renewed celeb reminds me of my junior high years when KISS was the reigning rock phenom. I never cared for them, although I do look back with mild amusement at their notoriety. Made up as much for controversy as music, their’s was a Gene Simmons KISSlegacy of pot smoke filled concerts and wild romps with the young ladies. Religious leaders denounced them, saying that KISS was an anagram for “Kings in satan’s service”. More like Kooks in silly suits, if you ask me.

With time, as happens to all things, their infamous antics fizzled into kitsch. Much of their fan base now has respectable hair-dos, khakis and koulats, polo shirts and pant suits.

But Gene Simmons… what drug this guy out of the dust pile of rock hucksterdom?

It’s interesting how the stuff that gets certain “Christians” so up in arms will eventually fade away to minimal fanfare and effect. And on we go to the next big threat to our Judeo-Christian ethic.

Not to mock efforts for morality, mind you. I’m all for watching out for our kid’s minds and keeping the trash at the curb where it belongs. But it seems that we can all learn a lesson as to what really impacts society.

Picketing may make us feel good, but it’s relationship building and constant care and concern that really rocks our world. Too often we opt for the easy way out – slash and burn condemnation – rather then taking the time to toil over showing true love and concern for the individual. Anyone can print a sign or rail against corrupting forces. But it takes a true man or woman of God to get down to the real work of building a time-consuming repartee with those being swallowed up by evil’s lurking lure.

True change, the kind that is meaningful and transforming to society, takes place in one on one relationships. It’s slow to come, but rewarding nonetheless. It happens when we dare to love those hard to love, when we pay attention to what they’re saying, and when we show that we’re more than just a force of constant scorn.

Who influenced you the most? I suspect not the bands you listened to or the shows you watched. I’ll bet that when all is considered, it was those who took the time to know you and care about you that most changed you for the good.

These are the things that are truly kissed by grace and mercy. This takes grace out of the one dimensional grip that many hold it in and applies it to our lives and actions.

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 03 2008
dpcpastor

I love this post! You are so right on the mark. Kiss was so huge when I was in 5th and 6th grade. Everyone, it seemed, but me went to their concert. It was the right decision which my parents made but the band never ushered in the national satanic our church said they would. This type of reflection and writing are exactely what I am trying to do on my blog “An Uncommon Grace”. Why could I have not written this? Great job. If you get a chance, check out my blog and tell me what you think. Here is the link: http://anuncommongrace.wordpress.com/

13 03 2008
gregfish

Thanks so much for the affirmation! I know what you mean regarding wishing you’d thought of something that someone else wrote about (if that makes any sense at all) – I’ve experienced that emotion many times over! You’ve got a really great start on your blog – you’ve really put a lot of work into it. Thanks so much for sharing it with me. I’ll check in from time to time and keep you in my prayers as well. Blessings to you, my friend!

Leave a Reply

