They Think We’re Stupid (They May Be Right)

24 02 2008

My momma taught me right.  Chew with your mouth closed, she said.  This is a lost art.  It often amazes me to see perfectly normal looking people putting their masticated cuisine on display.  (Side note – “masticate” is not a good word to use in a sermon – I found out the hard way – it sounds too much like something else!).

I can stomach many a foul discussion at the table, but one thing I cannot abide is loud, lip slapping eating noises.  So why is it that advertising agencies now think that we have to HEAR people eating on food commercials, otherwise we won’t believe they’re really eating.  They must think we’re stupid. 

We don’t have to hear “crunch, crunch, crunch” to know that a cereal called “Good N Crunchy Flakes” is crunchy.  What you, dear ad executive, are telling us is that you were never taught good manners by your mother.  My stomach now turns every time I pass a display of my formerly favorite English muffins because some commercial director who was raised in a barn (I learned clever phrases from my momma as well) thinks that it is proper to loop in munching noises to show us just how crunchy their nooks and crannies are.  They must think we’re stupid.

And a note to you TV news directors and reporters – you don’t have to stand outside in 40 below temperatures for us to know it’s cold out.  You don’t have to be pummeled by hurricane force winds for us to get that hurricanes are windy.  We’ve pretty much got that one covered.  You only make yourself look too dumb to come inside.  Perhaps that’s another lesson that someone’s momma should have taught.  We understand that inclement weather is nasty.  Do you think we’re stupid?

But then I see dear wonderful people come into the house of God and float through a worship service like Forest Gump’s feather.  Sometimes they even complain that they come to church, but don’t get fed.  For that matter, I’ve done that.  I’ve focused so much on stupid incidental stuff as a lay person that I forgot to worship.  Or, I let something distress my mind so much that I refused to believe that God was big enough to transform my pride into praise.  It’s really a simple matter.  All we must do is take a moment to quieten our hearts, and ask the Lord to help us worship.  When I’ve been subjected to a speaker who I’m certain has nothing of any value to offer me (oooh, there’s that pride thing again), I make it a habit to ask the Lord to teach me something in spite of myself!  Guess what.  He does. 

Oh, and then there is the occasional song I don’t like.  Sometimes it’s an inane praise chorus, and sometimes it’s a theologically whacked hymn.  Instead of sulking through the singing, I refocus on the reason why I came to worship in the first place.  I begin to pray, “Lord, I just don’t like this song at all…  but I love you.  So, transform this moment for me so that the song of my heart will be music to your ears.” 

These are just simple things.  Do we get it?  Or do we need to hear the cereal crunch and see the reporter shiver to comprehend what any reasonable person should comprehend.  Or, are we really as stupid as they think we are?

Actions

Information

One response

24 02 2008
masterofdungeons

Hmmm, lots to ponder :)

Leave a Reply

